Nat Miller

Educator. Director. Actor.

Nat Miller December 4, 2007

Filed under: Home — nmiller55 @ 5:29 pm

 I am currently the Director of Education and Artistic Director of the Family Series at ZACH Theatre in  Austin, TX.

In the spring of 2008, I received my M.F.A. program in Drama and Theatre for Youth at The University of Texas at Austin.  I feel passionate about teaching theatre, developing curriculum, and directing.   My other research interests including devising performance with middle and high school students, using Augusto Boal’s Theatre of the Oppressed techniques to work with K-12 students on conflict resolution, and working with teachers to incorporate drama-based learning in their classroom.

My training began when I attended the Milwaukee High School of the Arts in Wisconsin.  After that, I received a B.F.A. in theatre studies from Southern Methodist University, ranked as one of the top ten theatre schools in the country.  I also was certified to be a classroom from the University of Whitewater-Wisconsin, which led to a job teaching Theatre and English in a public high school in Wisconsin.

My professional experience in the field includes ten years of teaching a variety of drama classes for First Stage Children’s Theater, the second largest children’s theater in the country.  For the past three summers I have been the director of a youth theatre at Next Act Theatre in Milwaukee.  I worked with a diverse group of teenagers to devise an original musical that we toured around the community.

On the university level, I have taught Introduction to Improvisation and was a teaching assistant for the courses Introduction to Theatre, Curriculum Development, and Theatre for Young Audiences.  I directed the AATE award-winning play The Wrestling Season, under the supervision of the playwright, Laurie Brooks.

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

